B&B Reviews

“10 of the best B&Bs in London” – The Guardian, May 2011

108 Streathbourne Road
Balham, famously mocked as The Gateway to the South, is actually home to a surprising number of desirable tree-lined streets, Streathbourne Road being one of them. Number 108 is a marvellous red brick Victorian pile built in the days when homes aspired to be castles and very nearly achieved their dreams. Thankfully, inside there’s not a hint of Victorian stuffiness or chintz. Rather the owners have gone for a comfortable home-from-home feel, an effect increased by the fact that you can dine here, too. And if you fancy getting out and about in the evening Balham High Road – just around the corner – is a haven for trendy restaurants


 

Mary and David were wonderful hosts. Their hospitality was exceptional and our room was very comfortable, clean, quiet , bright and airy. We loved the bath and the beautiful garden aspect as we sat and ate our breakfast every morning. The home was in a very pleasant location and within walking distance to train stations and restaurants. We would certainly recommend this accommodation to others and hope to visit again.

Amanda and Gerry Martin
Sunshine Coast
Queensland
Australia

Stayed May 2018


We just spent four days here, and were thoroughly delighted with the experience. Our hosts, Mary and David, were charming, accommodating and helpful, our room was airy and comfortable, breakfasts were excellent (and yes, David makes a good breakfast, too) and the price most reasonable. The b&b is really conveniently located, adjacent to a huge park, near shops and restaurants and only about a 10 minute walk from the nearest tube station, which is all of a 20 minute ride from Victoria Station. (It’s maybe a 15 minute walk to the next nearest tube stop — two minutes closer to London — which is adjacent to a National Rail Service station (Balham)). I can’t say enough nice things about the place. . .and the people

Stayed May 2018, travelled as a couple
Tripadvisor


My husband and I couldn’t have asked for better hosts or lodgings, not to mention its excellent proximity to the tube station, nice restaurants, good coffee shops and a beautiful park!  Mary and David were quite pleasant and provided us not only a warm welcome and delicious breakfast, but were very easy to be with and made us feel at home!  Our room was comfortably sized and lovely   We will absolutely come back and stay, and would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting London!

Stayed April 2018, travelled with family
Tripadvisor


Thank you! We stayed 6 nights at this lovely B&B home of David and Mary. The room was so homey, the beds so cosy and warm . The huge English breakfast gave us energy to go through the day. Lovely breakfast room with a lovely view into an English garden . David and Mary are very warm-hearted and full of humour. They made our stay very special indeed . Ten minutes walking distance to the tube station Tooting Bec . Many good restaurants around .. Specially the Italian restaurant was so good. Around the corner a huge park… Where you can jog before breakfast …

Stayed November 2015, travelled with family
Tripadvisor


Excellent B&B. The proprietors, Mary and David, are exceedingly nice people and I have felt at home immediately after my arrival. They have a very nice traditional English house (but the heating is working fine). Their position in Balham is in walking distance from two Underground stations and the real English breakfast with homemade marmalade is a real treat. Highly recommendable.

Stayed October 2015 travelled solo
Tripadvisor


A second delightful stay here! Our second stay at this b&b, and it was once again a very delightful few days. David and Mary are wonderful hosts, and were particularly helpful when we had a problem with car keys that took a few days to solve. Breakfast in the very attractive breakfast room was delicious, the room spacious and comfortable… difficult to imagine a better place to stay in the London area!

Stayed in August 2015, travelled as a couple
Tripadvisor


Home away from home. We stayed here with our charming hosts Mary and David on 3 different occasions in July. Each time we enjoyed their warm and generous hospitality, the lovely views over the treetops from our quiet, comfortable double room and the delicious breakfasts. This B and B is located on a residential tree-lined road. It is within easy walking distance to two tube stations, good restaurants and the wonderful Tooting Bec Common. We highly recommend this delightful B and B.

Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple
Tripadvisor


Terrific value in a wonderfully elegant and cozy home. This B&B is located on a quiet, tree-lined street, with a great park nearby. Hosts David and Mary were lovely and gave us some great sightseeing and dining tips. Only wish we could have stayed longer!”

Stayed in May 2015 Alastair Sawday


This B&B found in your guide was absolutely delightful. Considering London prices it was terrific value. It was everything that you described. Very much an elegant yet cosy house on a lovely, very London quiet tree-lined street. My hosts Mary and David were so welcoming and so helpful. Their charming friendliness made for a perfect four day break.”

March 2015 Alastair Sawday


Mary and David are a charming, helpful couple living in delightful South London home just moments from a very pleasant Tooting Common. We enjoyed excellent breakfasts to start our days and we thoroughly recommend their hospitality. Lovely…”

April 2014  Alastair Sawday Special Places to Stay


My husband and I have stayed at this charming B&B three times. Extremely well-maintained and very spacious, comfortable rooms. David and Mary are the most helpful and friendly hosts you could meet. One of our favourite B&B’s.

Tripadvisor  July 2014
read this review on tripadvisor.co.uk


108 Streathbourne Road” is easily reached in a five minute walk from the Undergrond station, Mary and David are two nicest people and always available, and their home is cozy. An oasis of tranquility their back garden. Good and rich breakfast.

Tripadvisor from Italy September 2014
read this review on tripadvisor.co.uk


We stayed for 3 nights and loved our stay with Mary and David! From the time they opened their front door to greet us to the time we said goodbye, we felt as if we were staying with family.
Every morning, after a restful night’s sleep from a long day of sightseeing (the best sleep I had in our entire 18 days in Europe!), we were served with a hearty breakfast to start our day. We ate our breakfast in their quaint dining room overlooking their beautiful garden.
Mary and David are kind, thoughtful, generous people who made us feel right at home. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything. Our conversations were always filled with laughter and we enjoyed talking and visiting with them very much.
We would not hesitate to stay here again! Just the best! Thank you again Mary and David…we really enjoyed our time at your beautiful home!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family from Canada
read this review on tripadvisor.co.uk

“Semplicemente fantastico!” (“Just great!”)
We returned from London yesterday and I just wanted to write a review to thank Mary and David for their wonderful hospitality and kindness. The B & B is located 10 min from Tooting Bec underground station and 15 minutes from Balham, so it is a great place for easy access to both central London by train and metro. In about 20 minutes you are at Tottenham Court Road. It is also well connected to the Gatwick Express from Victoria Station (only 10 min by train). The house is in perfect English style and has only 2 guest rooms, you feel almost part of the family. Mary and David are available in any council, and strive to make their guests feel at ease. Our room was on the first floor and was very spacious and clean. Full English breakfasts are cooked beautifully by Mary. Highly recommended for those who want to visit London.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
read this review on tripadvisor.co.uk

“Home, sweet home!”
We visit London several times during the last years, and we always love to stay at Mary’s and David’s B&B. It’s cosy, clean, pretty quiet, and you can easily got to city center by tube (Northern Line or National Rail, train and tube stations are just ten minutes to walk). But the most important: David and Mary are the most wonderful hosts we ever had. It’s always like we return too very good friends. And we will surely come back!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
read this review on tripadvisor.co.uk

“Perfect B+B”
I stayed here on my recent visit to London for the Cold Water Swimming Championships. I was very well looked after by Mary and David. I had a spacious twin room at the top of the house with sofa, TV, tea and coffee facilities and my own bathroom. It was very comfortable and warm. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and tasty.  Mary and David are charming hosts.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
read this review on tripadvisor.co.uk

“Perfect relaxing B&B”
My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B after a long camping trip in Africa and it was perfect! Mary and David were wonderful hosts, they were very welcoming and had a ton of good information for us. We arrived on New Years Eve and had no plans for dinner and they recommended a French restaurant down the street and called ahead to book a table for us even though the restaurant was full! They also went out of their way to get some black pudding for us to try! Although the location isn’t great, the street is very quiet and the room was beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious and she was very accommodating with what she made. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
read this review on tripadvisor.co.uk